*hugs* forgive yourself. It happens.
*hugs* Thanks. I’m working on it
*hugs* forgive yourself. It happens.
*hugs* Thanks. I’m working on it
@samanddeaninpanties replied to your post “@samanddeaninpanties replied to your post “Help me figure out what I…”
Of course he doesn’t. It’s kind of the point. 😉
Lol. That’s true. Still. It’d be nice if they’d just play nice with me.
@trisscar368 replied to your post “Do you think Gordon and Kubrik had a Thing? The way Gordon holds…”
… given the amount of religious paraphernalia and the anti-gay subtext around his interactions with Sam, not a Thing sort of thing? I can’t see him as anything but Straight™
Well, if we’re going with queer subtext that surrounds his interactions with Sam (and Dean lbr) and the way he just let himself be a terrible person when he got the chance, what do you think about a read of Gordon as repressed?
@samanddeaninpanties replied to your post “Help me figure out what I should work on today: 1) Tentacles 2)…”
*pouts cause I don’t see anything peacemaker related on the list*
Peacemaker is stalled b/c Dean and Cas are being uncooperative dicks. Cas doesn’t want to be tied up and “Dean” is straddling the line between the right amount of dick and possibly too nice.
@tellthenight replied to your post “You know what sucks? Having things you need to do but they all seem…”
I’m sorry. 😦 That place sucks.
Thanks : / It definitely does. Hopefully I can just push past it. (I’m gonna try at least)
@zmediaoutlet replied to your post “@zmediaoutlet replied to your post “@baronsamediswife replied to your…”
I’m not very interested in this conversation, honestly; the show clearly isn’t aimed at me, and I very much doubt I’ll be watching it–though I’m willing to give it a try. The comment was, yes, aimed at my friend, with respect to our shared opinion about the marketing and showrunning choices of the CW. The tag to block is ‘Wayward Critical,’ I believe, if you don’t want to see conflicting opinions.
I have the tag blacklisted, thank you, but as I’m sure you’re aware, replies to posts go directly to the OP (me in this case). I appreciate that you have different opinions, but note that if I see them on my posts I can and will respond. If you don’t want to see it, ignore me, block me, or refrain from replying on my posts. I will do the same if it helps.
@zmediaoutlet replied to your post “@baronsamediswife replied to your post:
Real,…”
Myri, I know what you mean about the ‘demeaning’ aspect. Clearly it’s not aimed at either of us, but it feels like pandering. All these basically identical girls who are all bronzer and hair and cheekbones, because *obviously* mature women can’t carry a show? Come on. They’re aiming for the 15-30 demo, I guess, but it feels kind of… off. Cynical marketing.
Hi, there. I know this reply wasn’t aimed at me, but you commented on my post and I would like to address some of the things you’ve said here.
First, in my other post I mention that two mature women hunting monsters is a little too similar to two mature men hunting monsters, which is a large part of why I feel the show needs to be different. If it’s just Donna and Jody carrying a show it feels a little like just Sam and Dean carrying a show, and, to be honest, I don’t think very many people want to actually watch a show that’s *only* Supernatural with girls. That’s less interesting than a community of people, in my opinion, because “two against the world” has already been done… with Supernatural.
Second, when fans originally championed the idea of a spin off with Jody and Donna it was actually a spin off with Jody and Alex. Post 9×19 (Alex Annie Alexis Ann) people were intrigued by the relationship between Jody and Alex and fans thought it would be interesting to see the story of the two if the powers that be were intent on having a spin off. The idea of Wayward Daughters, as it was called by fans, was added to in season 10 after Donna and Jody worked together in 10×08 (Hibbing 911) and Claire was of course added to the mix after her re-introduction in the same season. To the people who’ve been rooting for the idea of a spin-off, it has always been about more than just Jody or Jody and Donna. It’s always been about the idea of community and women helping each other navigate a world where monsters are real. It hasn’t been just about Donna and Jody basically ever, and it has been about the bonds and dynamics these characters have the potential to form. These girls weren’t “added” simply because of a cynical marketing tactic, the fans championing it wanted them to begin with.
Third, I take issue with the idea that they’re “basically identical girls who are all bronzer and hair and cheekbones” as you put it. It’s never nice to disparage a person based on their appearance and this comment seems very dismissive. I’d like to point out that these girls don’t actually look all that similar.


That’s Katherine Ramdeen (Alex) on the top, Yadira Guevara-Prip (Kaia) on the bottom. Yeah, they’re glamour shots, but that’s to be expected because they’re actresses and those are just the first two pictures I snagged from google. We don’t know how they’re all going to present themselves in the show just yet, and we don’t know if their appearance is going to important to any of them. Dismissing them all by their looks isn’t fair to anyone, really. We don’t know what their personalities are yet, we don’t know what’s going to be important to them, and we don’t know what their motivations are. And, from a purely aesthetic point, they’re not identical. They have different heights, skin tones, nose shapes, mouth shapes, eye colors, and hair colors. Am I being a bit of a dick? Yeah, I am, but I think dismissing them as all “hair and bronzer” is rude and disingenuous.
And as to pandering, what’s wrong with it? (Aside from the negative connotations the word has but I digress.) This is something a vocal group of fans wanted and the powers that be saw it as a money making opportunity. We said “We want a spin off with Donna, Jody, Alex, and Claire” and they said “Well, here you go!” It’s a win-win for those of us who want it and for those who stand to make money off it. I don’t see what’s wrong with giving people what they want when it means fans are happy and there’s money to be made. Not to mention it’s a separate entity from Supernatural built with side characters and new ones, so it doesn’t really affect the main show.
Look, if you’re not interested in the show that’s fine. You’re allowed to not care. But I have a huge issue with the idea that it’s anything other than what people were asking for. If you would have preferred a show about just Donna and Jody, that’s fine but I don’t think this was about two mature women not being able to carry a show. This was about doing something different, something fans were asking for specifically, and it’s a win-win for the people who wanted it and who can make money off it. It’s not too much like Supernatural in the “two against the world” department, but it takes characters a significant enough portion of fans were interested in and does something different. You don’t have to like it or watch it, or care, but it’s not out of nowhere or as cynical as it seems.
Well, tbh I’m not looking forward to it either because I think the concept is demeaning. I don’t feel that strongly about it but I have posted about my reasons before. I think people can say whatever they want on their blogs? As long as they don’t come into your inbox to yell at you about it I think you will have to deal. I do understand the impulse to be mad about others harshing your vibe but this post feels a little…off.
How is the concept demeaning? I don’t understand that. I really can’t see anything undignified about a spin-off with four to six women hunting monsters. I’m sorry, I don’t get that at all.
And, yeah, anyone can say whatever they want on their own blogs but it’s kind of annoying to go into the tags of something you’re excited about and see people shit all over it, wouldn’t go agree? To have other people use very misogynistic language when referring to the concept and the leads by reducing them to body parts? To have people knee-jerk react by insisting that anything I find fun or exciting about it is stupid or flawed or what have you?My point is this: It’s a brand new show that hasn’t even been written yet. It’s got people who are excited about it. It’s got people who are interested to see where it goes and what it’s going to do. If people don’t want to watch they shouldn’t, but they also shouldn’t shit all over it for no good reason because it’s annoying to search for new press releases or art or what have you on tumblr to find people shitting on it.
I agree that if it has to be in the tags it should at least be marked with something obvious so people who are all SQUEE can blacklist or avoid it. That’s just good manners.
And maybe demeaning is not the right word.
My problem with the concept is simply this: We had Jody and Donna, two amazingly accomplished female sherriffs who are past 35 and look like they have eaten carbs in the last few years. They are not that much older than Jensen and Jared.
I don’t understand (I actually know perfectly well why) these women could not get a spin-off happening without surrounding them with three women who fit the CW mould and why they are being reduced to the role of den-mothers to the new hunter girls. I will be pleasantly surprised if they get to do more than basically hand-hold the younger women through their trials.
I would have watched the fuck out of a show about Jody and Donna kicking ass and taking names. I have zero interest in the stories of the younger girls and I am 100% convinced that they were added because two mature, grown women who have had children cannot possibly be trusted to carry a show.
I also really dislike Claire, but that is beside the point.
I’ll give the show a shot but it will have to really work to convince me. I don’t need this show to fulfill my quota of bamf!women.
I understand your concern with Jody and Donna being pushed towards the back however I frankly don’t have that concern and part of the reason I don’t have that concern is because I actually want a show that deals with more dynamics between more characters in this world full of monsters. I wouldn’t be watching the show just for Jody and Donna, I do like Claire and Alex and am interested in what Patience and Kaia will bring to the table as well.
I think my main thing is that I don’t know what the show will turn out to be and I’m okay with that. I don’t have an issue with Jody or Donna mentoring young women, because I’m interested in seeing what it brings out in character dynamics and backstories. I don’t want just bad ass women being bad ass, I want to know what these characters are all about. If you have no interest in the show because it could put Jody and Donna in the roles of mentors that’s fine but I don’t really see that as a negative. And to be honest I don’t think it’s about the fact that they don’t think two mature women can’t carry a show for sex appeal or whatever it is, I think that having to mature women hunting monsters is a little too similar to two mature men hunting monsters and they kind of need to take it in a different direction. (And, to be honest, I’m very hesitant to discuss what the roles of these characters are going to be because the show isn’t actually out yet. The back-door pilot has been written and they’re probably will be a first season, but until the show actually exists on it’s own I’m not comfortable discussing the relationships. It’s hard to either praise or critique what doesn’t actually exists on screen yet.)
Part of the reason I liked the idea of Wayward Sisters in the first place was that it could center on a community of people like Jody, Donna, Claire, and Alex. It was never about just two mature women for me, it was about the potential for community and bonding between lots of women.
But, like I said, if you’re not into it that’s totally cool. You don’t have to be. It’s a difference based off what appeals to you and it’s no skin off my nose what does and doesn’t appeal to other people. But I think I speak for a lot of fans who are interested when I say that we don’t want just Jody and Donna and we don’t mind the idea of two bad ass monster hunting ladies helping younger women navigate a world with monsters in it.
Well, tbh I’m not looking forward to it either because I think the concept is demeaning. I don’t feel that strongly about it but I have posted about my reasons before. I think people can say whatever they want on their blogs? As long as they don’t come into your inbox to yell at you about it I think you will have to deal. I do understand the impulse to be mad about others harshing your vibe but this post feels a little…off.
How is the concept demeaning? I don’t understand that. I really can’t see anything undignified about a spin-off with four to six women hunting monsters. I’m sorry, I don’t get that at all.
And, yeah, anyone can say whatever they want on their own blogs but it’s kind of annoying to go into the tags of something you’re excited about and see people shit all over it, wouldn’t go agree? To have other people use very misogynistic language when referring to the concept and the leads by reducing them to body parts? To have people knee-jerk react by insisting that anything I find fun or exciting about it is stupid or flawed or what have you?
My point is this: It’s a brand new show that hasn’t even been written yet. It’s got people who are excited about it. It’s got people who are interested to see where it goes and what it’s going to do. If people don’t want to watch they shouldn’t, but they also shouldn’t shit all over it for no good reason because it’s annoying to search for new press releases or art or what have you on tumblr to find people shitting on it.
@ltleflrt replied to your photo “@unforth-ninawaters
Well, I mean yeah if they wanted to just tell an…”
Y’know what I find interesting is that it’s basically known that s6 and s7 were bad. And I almost stopped watching during s7, so I get it because they were my least favorite too. But going back and watching them now, with another 5 seasons after them, I actually find them highly entertaining, and I kind of love them. I think it’s because they’ve had a chance to fix and address some of the things that bothered me. Except Emmanuel’s wife. Still a huge plot hole lol
I haven’t seen season 6 or 7 in over a year I think. I dunno if the time would endear me more to them, though. I’m still mad about a lot of stuff and still pretty confused about how half of the things that happened happened, but I’m glad you can get enjoyment out of them.
Daphne is still like a big ol’ question mark. Like, she finds a naked dude in the woods or something and is like “I guess I’ll take him home and marry him!” but obviously you can’t get married without any ID so like… did she lie? Was it one of those “married in the eyes of God” things? It’s not like Cas as Emmanuel would have known the difference. And then he leaves and never comes back so was she just like “well, you win some you lose some?” So weird.
Actually, you know what, I’m gonna headcanon that Daphne was up to something shady. Maybe he was on the run from the law or something.